Holy Cannoli!

24 May

Have you ever had cannoli? For those of you that don’t know, cannoli are a traditional Sicilian pastry dessert that consists of a fried tube of dough with a sweetened, creamy, ricotta filling. The filling can be flavored, sometimes crushed nuts or chocolate chips are added to the sides, and then the entire dessert is dusted with powdered sugar. Yum!

I had a dream last night that the world was going into a panic about the world ending, and in my dream I made sure to find a pastry shop that sold cannoli so I could have one last taste before utter chaos broke loose (yes, my subconscious priorities seem a little skewed…)! When I woke up from my dream, I was extremely confused! For one thing, I did not buy in one bit about May 21st being the end of the world, and secondly, I’ve only had cannoli once and although it was so rich and delicious, I haven’t really thought about it too much since I ate it. And now, after this dream, I can’t stop thinking about cannoli! Maybe it’s because of the attention revolved around Judgment Day, maybe I’m having traveling/East Coast withdrawals, or maybe I’m just craving something sweet but getting my hands on some cannoli is all I can think about lately! Obviously, my mind was desperately trying to tell me something important: Steph, find some delicious cannoli! I must listen to it.

The first and only time I tried one was at a popular pastry shop, Mike’s Pastry, in Boston’s North End (also known as “Little Italy” there). So now that I’m back on the West Coast, where do I find cannoli? I’m thinking that my best bet is somewhere in San Francisco…

Here is the amaretto flavored one I had in Boston—bottom half dipped in chocolate, and almonds sprinkled on the ends–it was so creamy, sweet and rich!

The bakery that started it all...Yum!

Here is a recipe from Pete over at pete bakes! for home-made cannoli if you are daring enough to give it a try! I may have to attempt it myself, or order a DIY cannoli kit from Mike’s Pastry. Either way, I am determined to get my hands on some cannoli soon! If you have any good recipes or know of any good places where I can find one (or 10!) around the Bay Area, let me know! Thanks in advance. How did everyone else spend their Judgment Day?

10 Responses to “Holy Cannoli!”

  1. J May 25, 2011 at 11:08 AM #

    I lived by a famous cannoli place in the East Village a few years back. It was a fight not to stop there every time I had a bad day…

    • lifetasteslikefood May 25, 2011 at 5:32 PM #

      I can only imagine! I would be about 20 lbs heavier right now if that were the case for me. I wouldn’t be able to resist! Thanks for reading!! :)

  2. Carebear May 25, 2011 at 1:40 PM #

    Mmmmmmm…Cannoli! If you’re ever in Downtown Disney, in Anaheim, Naples Ristorante makes some pretty tasty cannoli. I still have dreams about how amazingly good they were.

    • lifetasteslikefood May 25, 2011 at 5:35 PM #

      Inside of Disneyland? Yum, I bet it’s really good there. Too bad it’s so far away! I need to find something closer in Northern California…and soon! haha

  3. Brian May 25, 2011 at 3:23 PM #

    Haha, that is a pretty hilarious dream. When the world is ending, you’re gonna be running around town getting your last tastes of the best foods. You should have told me, I would have brought back a canoli for you (instead I brought back a boring bagel from my fridge).

    • lifetasteslikefood May 25, 2011 at 5:39 PM #

      Yes, I’m sure I’ll be running around taking bites out of everything is sight! I wish I would have thought about asking you to bring me cannoli back from the East Coast! Aw. Thanks though!! So sweet of you to even offer :)

  4. Cassie May 25, 2011 at 4:11 PM #

    Holy cannoli is right! I’ve never had one but I definitely want to now, especially after seeing your pics :)

    • lifetasteslikefood May 25, 2011 at 5:39 PM #

      Yes, you will not be disappointed!! I promise!! Glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks so much for reading!

  5. Monana June 2, 2011 at 9:20 AM #

    That cannoli looks absolutely to die for… (no pun intended). I would be happy to join in the search for a delicious cannoli in the Bay Area :)

Leave a comment