Spicy Guacamole with Corn and Black Beans

26 May

This dish was completely inspired by my recent visit to California Pizza Kitchen. We ordered the “White Corn Guacamole and Chips” off of their small cravings menu. And when they say “small cravings”, they mean small. I’m not saying it wasn’t delicious or worth the price, but you really do only get a tiny taste of the dish before it’s gone! As a food fanatic, this just wasn’t going to do for me! After eating the yummy guacamole and BBQ chicken pizza, I was happy and full. The next day though, I was already craving the guacamole again, so I decided to make some of my very own! Fresh and healthy with a kick of spice in every bite, this recipe is a keeper. And the best part is, it makes a ton of this guacamole! So, feel free cut the recipe in half. Also, CPK’s recipe calls for white corn (I used yellow corn), white onion (I used red), and also has jicama and green onion in it. I made these substitutions, left the jicama and green onion out, and still feel like it tastes just as delightful without them. Just wanted to let you know in case you wanted to recreate the dish exactly the way CPK makes it.

Recipe for Guacamole with Corn and Black Beans

3 avocados, diced
1/2 cup sweet corn
1/4 cup black beans
1/2 cup red onions, diced
1/2 of a red bell pepper, diced
1 serrano pepper, diced finely*
1 handful of cilantro, chopped
2 small limes*
1/2 tsp of salt

Combine all the ingredients except for the avocados and only squeeze in the juice from one of the limes. Mix thoroughly. After the avocados are diced, squeeze in the last lime over the avocados, and mix the two ingredients together in a separate bowl. Then, slowly add the corn and black bean mixture to the avocados. And voila!  To plate it like CPK does, find a small circular ramekin or bowl, pack in the guacamole firmly inside the bowl, and then flip onto the plate. The guacamole should come out of the ramekin smoothly and retain its shape. Serve with some chips, and enjoy!

*some peppers are spicier than others, so if you want a more mild guacamole, only use half–remember, you can always add more if you want it spicier but you can’t take it out! The same goes for lime and salt. Some people like their guacamole with more citrus and/or salt, so feel free to adjust those proportions to your liking!

This recipe is definitely cheaper than $5 an individual serving, so sorry CPK, I’ll be using this recipe from now on to get my fix for your delicious guacamole!

10 Responses to “Spicy Guacamole with Corn and Black Beans”

  1. Patrick Anderson May 26, 2011 at 11:01 PM #

    It looks soo good. And I’m sure it tastes way better then CPK’s

  2. Chris's Gourmet Fashion May 28, 2011 at 4:47 PM #

    A nice twist on traditional guacamole. Looks pretty and very well presented. Well done!

    • lifetasteslikefood May 28, 2011 at 8:03 PM #

      Thank you so much! And yes, if you enjoy guacamole, I’m sure you’d like this recipe!

  3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide June 10, 2011 at 11:44 AM #

    Looks tasty and I love how you plated it.

  4. thedrivencook June 12, 2011 at 2:23 PM #

    Great presentation- so nicely done. This looks delicious. Perfect to enjoy on the patio outside!

    • lifetasteslikefood June 13, 2011 at 2:51 PM #

      Thank you so much! Yes, I imagine it would taste wonderful outside on a sunny day! I hope you get to try it out soon!

  5. Young Wifey June 13, 2011 at 8:50 AM #

    I have a very similar recipe. Your pic is fantastic!

    • lifetasteslikefood June 13, 2011 at 2:52 PM #

      Yes, I’m so glad I stumbled upon this recipe. It’s adds a little something-something to your average guac recipe. Thanks for reading!!

Leave a comment