Hash Brown Crusted Quiche with Bacon

5 Jun

Oh, Sundays. What a wonderful day of the week. There’s something relaxing about this day. I’m not sure if it’s the end to a busy week where we can appreciate having a day to ourselves or maybe the calm before the storm as another week of our fast-paced lives approaches all too soon. Regardless, I usually like to use my Sundays to clean, catch up on projects that I have been procrastinating on my TV shows, and eat…way. too. much. After all, Sunday breakfast and/or brunch is a must. For me, today was spent cleaning out my coffee maker (followed by brewing some delicious coffee), catching up on other blogs, attempting to do laundry, and baking a bacon quiche.

First off, I love bacon and can’t resist potatoes, so this recipe was definitely a win-win for me. You may not know that I am a hard-core bacon fan simply because I’ve barely ever posted anything on this blog that includes much bacon. Well, let there be no mistake: I am a hard-core bacon fan! It’s really, really hard for me to resist bacon but I do so because it’s not very good for you, and it’s quite expensive if you want the good stuff! But it just tastes so goooood. So, I try my best to only indulge myself on special occasions or meals that simply are too irresistible to leave bacon out of–such as Sunday breakfast!!

This quiche was quite delicious. The bottom layer of the potato crust didn’t get too crispy, which complemented the quiche really well with nice hint of potato in every bite. The salty bacon, melted cheese and freshness of the green onions really brought out wonderful flavors in the dish. And the last couple bites are topped off with a nice crunch from the hash browns that did get nice and crispy on the outer edges of the crust. Delicious! Add a cup of coffee or tea to the mix and you can’t ask for more! Hope you guys like Sunday meals as much as I do, and I hope you are all having a wonderful day! Here’s the recipe:

Hash Brown Quiche with Bacon (adapted from Paula Deen’s Recipe)

3 Cups shredded hashbrowns, thawed and drained
3 Tablespoons butter, melted
3 Large eggs, beaten
1/2 Cup half and half
1/2 Cup milk (I used whole milk)
1/2 Cup of bacon, cooked and crumbled (I used about 4 big strips and fried them extra crispy)
1/4 to 1/2 Cup diced green onion
1 Cup cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Gently press the drained hash browns between paper towels to dry them as best as possible. In a bowl, mix together the hash browns and melted butter. Put mixture into a 9-inch pie pan and press it into the bottom and up the sides of the pan to form an even crust. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown and the edges are starting to get crispy.

While the crust is baking, combine the remaining ingredients in a large bowl. When the hash brown crust is finished, pour the egg mixture over it and return to the oven.

Lower the oven temperature to 350 degrees F and bake for about 30 minutes until the quiche is light golden brown on top and puffed.

Happy Sunday, Everyone!

24 Responses to “Hash Brown Crusted Quiche with Bacon”

  1. dancer June 5, 2011 at 7:12 PM #

    Oh that looks so YUMMY!!!!

  2. J June 5, 2011 at 7:37 PM #

    If this originally came from Paula Dean, we can be guaranteed of two things:

    1) It’s fucking delicious

    2) It will make our arteries cry.

    …Still, I’m filing this away to make someday soon…

    • lifetasteslikefood June 5, 2011 at 8:19 PM #

      haha you are absolutely right!! especially since I used bacon instead of ham (what Paula put in her recipe). To be fair, I cut the half and half down and used milk instead. but still, you are spot on!! Glad you enjoyed the recipe. If/when you try it out, let me know!! :)

  3. Monana June 5, 2011 at 11:25 PM #

    That looks so delicious!!! I’ll take an order of that next time I’m in town :)

    • lifetasteslikefood June 6, 2011 at 9:43 AM #

      Yes, just tell me when and I’ll make another for you!! Come, come!!

  4. Swee San June 6, 2011 at 12:48 AM #

    mmm potatoes, bacon, eggs and milk are some of my favourite things in the world! This should be awesome!

    • lifetasteslikefood June 6, 2011 at 9:44 AM #

      Yes, it’s like an entire breakfast plate in one bite!! Thanks for reading!! :)

  5. Amanda June 6, 2011 at 1:00 AM #

    Great photos! This looks totally up my alley- love bacon and love breakfast! I haven’t made a quiche with hash browns yet, but it sounds awesome. And a lot easier than making a dough!

    • lifetasteslikefood June 6, 2011 at 9:45 AM #

      Thank you!! And yes, I’ve made plenty of quiches with dough, and this saved so much time! And it’s really good too, so I think I might make all my quiches like this from now on haha Thanks for reading!

  6. Chris's Gourmet Fashion June 6, 2011 at 3:03 PM #

    This looks so good. What an interesting idea to use hash browns as the base for the quiche. I love it.

  7. Jess June 7, 2011 at 7:24 AM #

    As soon as I saw the title of this recipe of Foodbuzz’s Top 9 I knew I was going to have to make it. After seeing the pictures and reading the post… yes, definitely going to be making this! Great recipe and your blog is great!

  8. Nancy @ rivertreekitchen June 7, 2011 at 7:45 AM #

    I love this idea of the hashbrown crust. I make perfectly acceptable quiche but crust that tastes like corrugated cardboard. As soon as the temperature drops below 90 degrees around here, I’ll be trying this out!

  9. Catherine June 7, 2011 at 8:31 AM #

    Great recipe…I was looking for something like this to cook when my mom is in town. Thankfully this was in the Foodbuzz Top 9 today!

  10. lifetasteslikefood June 7, 2011 at 10:04 AM #

    Thank you SOO much, everyone!! I was so excited to wake up with morning and see an email saying I was in the Foodbuzz Top 9 today!!! You are all so great, and I will be SURE to visit each and every one of your blogs today! Thanks for reading!

  11. Jeff June 7, 2011 at 3:07 PM #

    I LOVE this idea. It’s like the best breakfast ever all mixed up in one! I can’t wait for the weekend so I can give this a try! Congrats on the top 9 as well!

  12. You Go Girl! June 7, 2011 at 7:23 PM #

    This looks amazing – I can’t wait to try!

  13. Young and Health June 7, 2011 at 8:18 PM #

    I love hash browns, never thought of using them as a crust, what a great idea. The quiche part looks really delicious as well. Will go nicely with a nice wine and salad on a Sunday afternoon. Thank you !!

  14. lifetasteslikefood June 9, 2011 at 1:17 PM #

    Thanks, everyone! I hope you get to try out the recipe sometime. Thanks for reading!! These comments make my day :)

  15. Audrey Ellen @ My Scene and Herd June 19, 2011 at 10:24 AM #

    It seems that everything should have a bacon crust.

  16. Kevin (Closet Cooking) July 2, 2011 at 3:06 AM #

    Great idea for a quiche!

    • lifetasteslikefood July 4, 2011 at 12:33 PM #

      Thank you! I dearly, dearly love your blog!!! I’ve been following it for some time now, so I did a little happy dance when I saw your comment :) Thanks for reading!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Buffalo Fries » Life Tastes Like Food - July 27, 2011

    […] love buffalo wings. Almost as much as I love bacon. I seriously went through a phase where I would just crave buffalo wings and want them for every […]

  2. Crab and Cream Cheese Stuffed Jalapeno Poppers » Life Tastes Like Food - August 1, 2011

    […] onions to top it off. I was really satisfied with the outcome of the dish! I just wish I had  some bacon on hand to throw into the mix as well…that would have made them […]

Leave a comment